RIP tupac

September 17, 2011

It’s been 15 years since Tupac died and damn if it doesn’t bum me out. But we’ll always have his records (and Tupac: Ressurection) and thanks to Becca Kinskey, our memories. She’s been going around collecting the words of those who loved (and one that hated) him and I was of the lucky few given a platform on which to gush about my love of ‘Pac. Below, a photo of the shirt I bought two months ago so that I could wear it on Tupac’s death day, which is also my dad’s birthday.

as published at LAWEEKLY.COM

Name: Sarah B.
Age: 24
Location Where We Accosted Them: Main Quad, USC
Job: Freelance Journalist
Headed From: Computer lab
Headed To: Lunch
Grew Up: The Valley
Lives Now: LBC
Favorite Track: “California Love”

“California Love” is just the sound of growing up in California in the ’90s. I remember watching it on TV as a kid and not really understanding the context of it at the time–they’re out in the desert, and they’re in war gear, and I didn’t know the whole gangster rap connotations at all at the time, but it just made me feel like, this is, like, LA in the summer. And maybe just because I listened to too much Power 106 growing up…I was one of those latch-key kids and did a lot of after-school care and the camp counselors would always bump that, so I got really into TLC early on and this was just an extension of that. I would have been like 9 years old. But it definitely just felt like LA, like it would have felt wrong to listen to it in another city. And I remember Snoop Dogg and stuff coming out too, but that was the first song that made me bob my head, [laughs] I don’t think I was, uh, bobbin’ before that.

Leave a Reply

