LA1984 + 25 = 2009

July 18, 2009

Since the Coliseum hasn’t didn’t get enough action with the Laker’s championship parade and the Electric Daisy Carnival, it’s time to, again, thank City Council that the 90 year old landmark has withstood their need for a new football stadium for another year and throw a huge fucking party for the 25th anniversary of the 1984 Summer Olympic Games!!!!! The celebration (which boasts legendary broadcasters Keith Jackson and Jim Lampley hosting and many gold medalists in attendance, including Peter Vidmar, Evelyn Ashford, Bart Conner, Al Joyner, Paul Gonzalez, Valerie Briscoe-Hooks, and Greg Louganis) should feature lots of pyrotechnics and representatives from one country—ours.  So instead of wasting your time driving to downtown L.A., let me share with you some relevant gems I found going through boxes of my mother’s things that I inherited when I was 8. Throughout the 70s and 80s, my mom worked as a secretary at MGM/UA and since they were huge sponsors for the games, she and my grandmother volunteered as ushers at the 1984 Olympics. And, judging by the amount of memorabelia she saved from her two-weeks work (think cases of Olympic pins, photos from every event she went to and a 100 page-long tearoff dotmatrix printouts of her conversations with a sexy Italian swimmer from some archaic inter-office email system), she is, like me, hopelessly nostalgic. Enjoy.

There were so many of these bumper stickers that I finally had to throw some out

Official Levi’s uniform jacket worn by the ushers. Currently in my closet. The track pants do not fit me.

Tickets

Cover of MGM/UA Olympic coffeetable book that is on my coffeetable

The page everyone in my house turns to first

and the first page of my mother’s article for L.A. Tourist Guide which was distributed at the Olympics

One Response to “LA1984 + 25 = 2009”

  1. ian said

    that stuff is rad! you should rock that track jacket outta the house sometime!

Leave a Reply

